THE BUILDING BLOCKS TO A LASTING RELATIONSHIP

Marty is homeschooling mom and blogger who has some great insights into what makes a successful marriage tick.

MY 32 CENTS

Unknown-1

(This is part four in my series on relationships.)

It happens. Somewhere a DJ is playing ”All of Me” when you look across a crowded room and there she is. She’s stunningly beautiful and the moment your eyes meet there is a spark. Everyone else fades away as you walk toward one another like Tony and Maria from “West Side Story,” or Cinderella and her Prince at the ball. You introduce yourselves and then talk as if you have known each other forever. A whirlwind romance follows and a few months later you walk arm and arm down the aisle together for all eternity.

 And then reality sets in. Followed by disillusionment. Because that kind of love, the falling in love, butterflies in the stomach kind of love, rarely has the foundational elements necessary to build a lasting relationship.

 Our society has tricked us when it comes to relationships. It…

View original post 1,159 more words

Published by

Kate Zickel

I hate long walks on the beach and candle-lit dinners, but love roller coasters and the ocean. My favorite foods include bread pudding and chocolate covered grasshoppers. I am married to the love of my life and soon hope to add 2.5 dogs to the family. For fun, I enjoy reading good stories and exercising my second amendment rights. When I need the energy, I listen to U2, the 77's, and AC/DC along with a wide variety of country favorites. My favorite movies include "Breakfast at Tiffany's", "When Harry Met Sally" and "The Shining". I like being the first to disparage a popular trend before the other hipsters and can often be found at Starbucks (I'm the customer not yelling at the barista about too much foam).

Leave a Reply

