Nail Challenge Update

I realized today that I haven’t updated anyone on the Nail Challenge in awhile. As some of you might remember, last year Brian made the rather generous offer that if I could stop chewing my nails for six months straight, he would take me back to Paris.

Well, many, many months later, I am happy to report that we are now in the third (almost fourth) month of bite free nails! This is thanks in great part to the debut of a wonderful product known Facebook wide as Jamberry Nail Wraps. These are basically little stickers that shrink wrap to your nail and come in almost every color, design, logo you can think of.


I hate spending money on my nails, but since Jamberry is about a third the price of acrylic nails, I figured it was worth a shot. I ordered a free sample from Megan then hosted a Facebook party. A week later, my first sheet arrived. Guys, these things are awesome. It took maybe 20 minutes to apply the first manicure and it lasted the promised two weeks with a few days to spare!

The best part, though, is that it made my nail biting habit incredibly difficult. Sure, I can still get to the nail, but only if I’m willing to gnaw through three layers of saran wrap first. After the first week or so, it just didn’t seem worth it. After three weeks, the temptation for cannibalism began to diminish. My nails even started growing!

It’s been three months and even though I don’t quite have the gorgeous length I was expecting (nails break, y’all), my nails are longer than I can ever remember them being before. I’ve pretty much kicked the habit and replaced with a fun new hobby.

I checked in with Brian and the deal is still on with a vengeance, so stayed tuned for new Jams pics and maybe a few of the Eiffel Tower!

Leave a Reply

