I Love Being A Girl

Last night I decided to put my hair in sponge curlers because I hadn’t washed it in two days and didn’t feel like showering. This is really saying something because my shower is something God built to show me that warm rain does fall in places other than Seattle.

My loving husband quickly pointed out (as he does every time I pull out the multicolored monstrosities) that I was a short step away from joining the white trash grannies club. While I agree that these curlers look hideous on my head, the results the next morning are well worth the effort.

I’m a naturally lazy girl when it comes to my personal appearance and anything that takes longer than two minutes to accomplish in the morning is therefore not worth my time. I truly envy those women who can create complicated looking hairstyles with seemingly minimal labor. Sponge curlers are great because they give me the chance to look like a woman who actually made an effort with almost no work required in the 7am hour.

When I was little, I HATED curlers. My mom would spend hours raking a brush through my hair then rolling those things as tight as they would go before sending me off to bed in tears. I exaggerate, but only a little. It was 6 year old torture, but my mom knew that I would wake up the next morning so amazed that my stringy brown hair had evolved into a glorious, bouncy crown of Shirley Temple loops.

As a working professional, I discovered that the concept still applies as long as the curlers are wound loosely and combined with about half a can of hairspray. It’s the part of my life that makes me feel like a girl…… not that there’s anything wrong with that.

To be honest, being a girl and being good at it is harder than it seems. We not only have to please everyone else with our looks, but we also have to satisfy our own crazy vision of beauty on a daily basis. Sometimes (like weekends), it’s easier because I genuinely do not care what I look like when I clean my bathroom or unpack books. Other days, it takes hours. That’s when I’m glad at least a few of the beauty tricks from our little girl days are still around to help out.

Published by

Kate Zickel

I hate long walks on the beach and candle-lit dinners, but love roller coasters and the ocean. My favorite foods include bread pudding and chocolate covered grasshoppers. I am married to the love of my life and soon hope to add 2.5 dogs to the family. For fun, I enjoy reading good stories and exercising my second amendment rights. When I need the energy, I listen to U2, the 77's, and AC/DC along with a wide variety of country favorites. My favorite movies include "Breakfast at Tiffany's", "When Harry Met Sally" and "The Shining". I like being the first to disparage a popular trend before the other hipsters and can often be found at Starbucks (I'm the customer not yelling at the barista about too much foam).

Leave a Reply

