It’s Going to Be Okay

Fair warning, I’m writing this without an editor after two glasses of wine and a large mug of coffee. Ted Cruz has just stepped down after a disastrous defeat by Donald Trump in the Indiana Primary.

I honestly didn’t think we’d get to this point, but then again, I never thought Barack Obama would be elected in 2008. You’d think by now I’d learn to ignore my political gut. That said,  I’m left a little confused about what to feel right now. I didn’t realize until tonight how much this election meant, how much was really at stake. I know we  always say that, but nights like tonight make me think it’s really true.

Elections matter, folks, especially in a truly democratic country like the United States. To be honest, I’m tired. I’m only 29, and I’m already tired of fighting for what’s right. I’m tired of trying to tell America that principles matter, that convictions are what built this country into greatness over 200 years ago. I don’t understand how such a large majority of the population can choose to remain uneducated despite the awesome privilege of choosing our elected officials.

I want to say with confidence that truth will win despite everything; that America will continue to be the greatest country in the world because her young people remain dedicated to preserving the integrity of the American way, that we will stand united in our demand for truth and justice. But tonight, it feels different. Tonight I feel as if the long nights and large cups of caffeine have pushed me to a whole new level.

Guys, we didn’t come this far just to see our government, our country, our freedoms crumble to the ground. I refuse to believe that a few poorly chosen candidates can destroy a nation built on God-given rights

Yes, Donald Trump may win the presidency. Hell, Hillary Clinton may win (God forbid), but America as a nation can surpass it if we stand strong in the values we started with, “that a nation of the people, by the people and for the people will not perish from the earth.”

When Abraham Lincoln wrote those famous words, our country was at far greater risk and from her own citizens. Call me crazy, but I firmly believe that if we as a country can overcome a battle as great and as devastating as the Civil War, we can overcome the decision that was made tonight if we are willing to stick to our guns and defend the values on which this country was founded.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

