TRAVELING SOLO COULD BE THE PERFECT OPPORTUNITY TO MEET NEW PEOPLE

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-9-20-36-am

Originally published on Vinazine

Most of us love to pack up and try a new adventure every once in awhile, but have you ever taken a trip all by yourself?

Three years ago, when my boss asked if I wanted to fly to Morocco to cover a news conference, I didn’t hesitate to say yes. I jumped at the offer, researched airfare, and started packing. A month later, though, as my departure approached, I began to wonder if I could do it. Could I really go alone? I knew this was a once in a lifetime opportunity, so I swallowed my negative thoughts, grabbed my suitcase and didn’t look back.

YOU CAN DO IT!

The key to a successful solo trip is the right attitude. You want to approach the trip like a choose-your-own-adventure game. For the first time, you get to make every decision based on what you want without having to consider what other people may want to do, try or see. Have confidence in yourself and your abilities and see how much the world can open up for you.

HAVE A PLAN

If you’re going it alone, it’s important to have a general idea of what you want your trip to be like. Are you looking to hit every major monument and museum or do you need to build in some time to walk around aimlessly? If it’s a work trip, you’ll want to make sure your fun activities don’t conflict with your pre-determined schedule.

Think it through, but make sure to give yourself some breathing room or jet lag could eat you alive.

SOAK IT IN

Even though you may have a schedule, the best part about solo travel is all the little moments to look around and discover things you wouldn’t see with a group. Some of my favorite travels memories are spontaneous moments I took to explore a hidden gem or indulge my curiosity. It’s amazing what you can find when you’re not distracted by other people.

BE SOCIAL

Getting away from your normal routine in a new place is the perfect time to meet new people! Having friends all across the world is wonderful, and there’s so much you can learn from vinas in other countries. See if a new friend wants to show you around their town – getting a local’s perspective could be super rewarding.

Chances to travel solo don’t come along too often and probably won’t last forever, so take the time to enjoy them and relax. Who knows, maybe you’ll meet some new vinas along the way.

(Feature image via @flownderr)

Published by

Kate Zickel

I hate long walks on the beach and candle-lit dinners, but love roller coasters and the ocean. My favorite foods include bread pudding and chocolate covered grasshoppers. I am married to the love of my life and soon hope to add 2.5 dogs to the family. For fun, I enjoy reading good stories and exercising my second amendment rights. When I need the energy, I listen to U2, the 77's, and AC/DC along with a wide variety of country favorites. My favorite movies include "Breakfast at Tiffany's", "When Harry Met Sally" and "The Shining". I like being the first to disparage a popular trend before the other hipsters and can often be found at Starbucks (I'm the customer not yelling at the barista about too much foam).

Leave a Reply

